The aftermath of our Patrick Carman intro

Well, guys, you done did good. Rico, Abbas, and Leo were pretty famous this weekend. You would not believe how many people came up to me to compliment them and our Patrick Carman intro video. Including the children’s librarians for the Bellingham Public Library and the Whatcom County Library System!

It was a little rough for me at first. I do not like talking in front of large groups of adults. Ten year-olds, maybe. I was sooooo nervous introducing our video. I could hardly eat breakfast that morning! I talked to a few friends later who said I was fine up there, but I sure didn’t feel fine! Whew. I’m glad it’s over. But one of the authors said something during the conference that was just right. I think it was Gary Schmidt who said, if you don’t do something hard, you can’t have the pleasure that comes when it’s done and appreciated. He was right on. That was definitely the biggest group of people I’ve ever spoken in front of, but it was worth it; for our video makers, for me, and for TMC Guys Read. We are all famous!

Patrick Carman’s first words after he walked on stage after our intro? “Well, it can only go downhill from here. That was awesome. Really, really great.” He was really impressed. He’s asked for the link to our video. Maybe our fame will extend even farther!

I always like going to this conference. It’s a good pick-me-up in the middle of a long school year, and it’s great fun to see real, live, famous authors. In addition to Patrick Carman, the conference featured author and illustrator Laura Kvasnosky and author Gary D. Schmidt. I haven’t read Mrs. Kvasnosky’s books, but the primary school library has them. She’ll be at the Young Authors Conference, if you’re one of the students headed there in late March. I read two of Mr. Schmidt’s books this year, Okay for Now and The Wednesday Wars. They were both great. Okay for Now was my favorite book I read last year.

At the end of the conference, Abbas and Leo were able to stop in and meet Patrick Carman and get some autographs. They were pretty excited, and so was Mr. Carman. He really did love the video, and was looking forward to telling the guys in person. Rico couldn’t come, but I got his book autographed for him. Plus, I got our club copies of Skeleton Creek and Trackers signed, too.

It was a great day! I felt very honored that we were invited to be a part of it, and Rico, Abbas, and Leo did an outstanding, wonderful job with the video. Who knows when an opportunity like this will come along again? I’m so glad we had the chance and ran with it. Ran with it all the way down the hall of the library.

Good work, guys! Keep reading!

4 Responses

  1. It was weird and fun to have people recognizing me who didn’t know me, and Abbas also. It was really awesome!!!!!! Being recognized, getting my book signed and all of it. -Leo

  2. I’m so glad it was fun for you, Leo. That was the whole point, after all.

    You are famous now!

  3. You guys were fantastic! I thought of you as I watched the Oscars last night. Maybe we’ll see you there some day. Keep up the great work!

  4. Wow, a comment from the Whatcom County Children’s Librarian!

    Thanks, Theresa!

Leave a Reply

