March Book(s) Post: Graphic Novel Extravaganza!

OK, guys. For March, something completely different from anything we’ve ever done in TMC Guys Read. We’re going to read graphic novels. But we can’t just read one, because it only takes a day or two to read one. So we’re going to read as many as we can.

Here’s how it will work:

  • There are graphic novels a lot of places. Mrs. B has a bunch in the library. The public library has a great collection. And I’ve got a whole bunch I’ve been hiding away all year.
    • Check one out from our library or the public library the normal way.
    • If you want to check out one from me, just write down the title and your name on the check-out sheet.
      • Check it off when you return it.
      • Write it down on your tracking sheet so you remember what you’ve read
      • Pick another one.

Here are a bunch of graphic novelists that I have in Room 3, their books, and their websites:

Plus, I found this sweet video with Eric Wight, George O’Connor, and Jarrett Krosoczka about making graphic novels. There are some slow parts, but there are some really cool parts, too!

Here’s another video, with Raina Telgemeier, Kazu Kibuishi, and Jeff Smith. You can skip the intro, but the Q&A is pretty great.

Have fun with this month, guys! Feel free to keep us updated in the comments section on the books you’ve read!

Keep reading!

Meeting: Thursday, March 29, 6:30-7:30 pm

7 Responses

  1. I don’t know if I’m going to reread any graphic novels this time, but I have snuck some new ones in.

    I just read Books 2 and 3 of the Amulet series. They are great. I’ll read Book 4 shortly.

    I just checked out a couple graphic novels from the public library. I got Copper, by Kazu Kibuishi (same guy who makes Amulet). It looks good.

    I also got a Tintin book. Tintin books are the classic graphic novels. Graphic novels from before they were called graphic novels. They’re pretty fun adventure/mystery/detective stories. As long as you avoid the ones that have racist stereotypes. The one I checked out is The Secret of the Unicorn, which Leo reviewed earlier this year on our Review Books page. You might remember that a Tintin movie just came out. We saw a trailer for it before Hugo.

    I know you’re reading, because my graphic novel shelf is in constant flux. What books have you guys read so far? Which are your favorites?

  2. OK. I read some more this weekend. I finished Book 4 of Amulet. I’m sad that the new one won’t be out until September.

    I also read Hera and Zeus from George O’Connor’s fantastic Olympians series.

    And one more Tintin book, Red Rackham’s Treasure, which was part two of what I read last week.

    I’m going to pick some more up from the public library tonight!

  3. I always love the “read as many as you can” challenge! Back in a more politically incorrect time, when I was in first grade, we got a feather for our “Indian War Bonnet” for every book we read aloud to an adult. Maybe the boys could earn eggs for a basket? I’d be in, if they were chocolate!

  4. I think there will definitely be a prize. I’ve got one up my sleeve.

  5. Update #3: I finished Rapunzel’s Revenge by Hale, Hale, and Hale. It was fun.

    I also just finished Drawing from Memory by Allen Say. It is a little mini-autobiography of Mr. Say’s time as a young boy in Japan, learning to become an artist. I liked it a lot.

    I also read two Babymouse books, Dragonslayer and A Very Babymouse Christmas, by Jenni and Matt Holm. These are by the same team that makes Squish, which I have in Room 3. There is no Babymouse in our school, but they are pretty funny. I’ve read the whole series now. Someday I’ll get some for Room 3.

    How many more graphic novels can you read before March 29?

  6. Update #4: I am rolling.

    I checked out The Storm in the Barn by Matt Phelan, from the public library. It was wonderful. Really distinctive and beautiful art. Great story.

    If you watched the new books video, then you know I picked up a few graphic novels from Village Books. I found four used copies of Babymouse books, so there’s some hilarious and entertaining pink on our graphic novel shelf now. But I’ve read them already. They’re for you guys.

    I also bought Explorer: The Mystery Boxes, which is a graphic short story collection edited by Kazu Kibuishi. It has a story by him, and one by Raina Telgemeier, and a few others. I liked it, mostly.

    Tonight, I finished another Tintin, Flight 714. I didn’t like it as much as others I’ve read. I also read my first ever Asterix, Asterix the Gaul. I liked it a lot. Very clever, lots of Latin. Asterix is an old French graphic novel series, with a feel very similar to Tintin.

    Keep it up, guys! Twelve more days!

  7. I wrote a whole new post to recap our meeting, since we had too much fun to just write a comment!

Leave a Reply

