3 minutes and 11 seconds of fame

As you may or may not remember, our great club was given the opportunity to create a video introduction for Patrick Carman’s appearance at the WWU Children’s Literature Conference. Why? Well…see…I know people. Get it? So that’s what I do. I use my connections to benefit you, the great guy reader.

Leo, Abbas, and Rico spent many lunchtimes and a couple of days after school to put this together. I helped them, filmed them, and gave them some tips, but pretty much everything they say was written by them. They came up with some great stuff.

Today is the day of the conference. At 9:05 this morning, I will stand up in front of about 1,000 teachers and librarians and introduce this video. Dang, Rico, Abbas, and Leo are lucky–they’re on video. I’m going to be super nervous standing up there. Did you know that I only like talking in front of people 11 and under?

Any video would be incomplete without an outtake reel. Here you go! A TMC Guys Read blog exclusive!

5 Responses

  1. Mr. Carman is soooooo lucky to be introduced by you guys. I just wish I didn’t live an ocean away — otherwise I’d be in the audience supporting Mr. S. as he introduced the video. You’re all terrific as readers and admirers of authors such as Patrick Carman. Have fun today, Mr. S.!!

  2. Whew. Everything went quite well. Aside from the fact that your 3:11 of fame was preceded by 2 minutes of mortal terror on my part. But once it was done…ah…it was pretty sweet.

    I’ll put up a little follow up post sometime this weekend.

  3. Thanks so much, Mr. S! This was a great moment in fame for the boys.
    ~Mrs. M

  4. Probably the first of many moments of fame.

  5. A huge video from a fantastic club.

    Congratulation on a your moment in the sun, or was it in the dark?

    We look forward to continuing the IBRG with our famous partners.

Leave a Reply

