Guys Read (and friends) Skype with Tom Angleberger

Our first special event of the year took place this morning, as a good handful of kids rolled out of bed early to Skype with Tom Angleberger, author of The Strange Case of Origami Yoda. Tom is on East Coast time, so we had to be at school at 8 am (and I had to be here even earlier!), but we shook off the sleepies and did some folding, some Yoda impressions, asked some questions, and had a great time!

The guys decided at our meeting to invite anyone in the school who had read the book, so I sent out about 30 invites based on who had checked out the book from the library, taken AR tests, and a few who had done book projects for October’s “Mystery” genre. We had Rico, Abbas, Leo, Savikar, Manraj, Dusty, and Robert from Guys Read, and Jeremy, Ernan, Cedar, and even a brave girl, Anna, joined us. Maybe Jeremy (a former Guys Reader–where are ya, Jeremy?), Ernan, and Cedar will join up with the club! Anna, you should join Mother/Daughter and tell Mrs. B to do some Skypes!

My pictures didn’t come out great, but I did take some video. I’ll get that put together and posted as soon as I can. I have to get some permissions, first.

Abbas asked his getting-to-be-famous double-sided tape question (Will you ask every author we Skype with, Abbas?), and students got to share their favorite books and asked some great questions.

Tom was pretty funny. He said he was more of a Dwight than a Tommy, and he called all of us Larry. Lots of fun!

I love Skype chats. I plan on at least one more this year. Of course, next month we go one better, with our in-person visit with Clete Smith.

Keep reading!

Click on for obligatory author-teacher Twitter exchange:

5 Responses

  1. ahhh!!! need email!!!

  2. Whose email? My email? Tom’s email?

  3. Tom’s Email i need it now

  4. Well…heh…I don’t think I’m going to give it out. But, have you visited the “Talk to Tom” section of his website? http://origamiyoda.com/category/talk-to-tom/

  5. We were supposed to know tom said you have to know my email by now oh you mean my mailing address???

Leave a Reply

