Review: Vanished

Cover © Hyperion Books for Children

OK. A little something different for this review.

First, this book is already out, so you can read it right away.

Second, this might not be a “guy” book. But it’s a good book, so that’s good enough for me. And then again, it’s a mystery, and it’s exciting and interesting and keeps you guessing. Guys like that, right? I know I do.

Vanished is the first novel by Sheela Chari, and is about a young Indian-American girl and her mysterious, cursed instrument. That’s Indian like from India. Not Native American.

Anyway, the girl plays a veena, an Indian stringed instrument that’s been around for many hundreds of years. Hers is a special one, and it goes missing, stolen, and the mystery begins!

There were several things I really liked about this book. It was thrilling without being scary. Mysterious without being spooky. I definitely wanted to figure out what would happen next, and it was hard to guess. It’s nice to have a mystery that is basically harmless and safe but is still exciting and interesting.

I also liked that this book had an Indian-American main character. I feel like there aren’t many books out there that celebrate and illuminate that culture. We have many Indian-American families at TMC, and I’m definitely telling Mrs. B. to get this book in the library. It’s good to read books that relate, even if it’s just a little, to your own life.

I liked Vanished. I probably won’t select it as a Guys Read book, but I would still recommend it to anyone who likes a fun little mystery.

Keep reading!

Vanished

By Sheela Chari

336 Pages

Genre: Contemporary realistic fiction, mystery

Leave a Reply

