Summer is for reading

Specifically, reading whatever you want! No tests, no quizzes. No AR. Just words and story and pictures and fun.

We’ve had a great year, highlighted by an author Skype with Mac Barnett and a great afternoon launching rockets we built ourselves. I can’t wait to raise the bar even higher next year.

What will you be reading this summer? Any plans to take on some new series? Feel free to keep us updated in the comments. I’ll do the same.

Have a great summer!

5 Responses

  1. Just finished The Dark Hills Divide, by Patrick Carman. I want to read one of his books next year in Guys Read. Has anyone read Skeleton Creek? Is it too scary for us? I’m going to check it out (literally, from the library) soon.

  2. We’ve been tearing through books this summer, helped along by a long drive to Boise and back, listening to books on tape. We’ve listened to “The Higher Power of Lucky,” “Hattie Big Sky,” “Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!” “Sing Down the Moon,” “The Merchant of Death,” and my favorite, “Moon over Manifest.” We are now reading “Heidi” and “Swiss Family Robinson,” kind of a Switzerland thing.

  3. Wow! Audiobooks are great on trips. I’m glad you’ve gotten a chance to listen to a bunch.

    I liked Moon Over Manifest, too. I thought it started slow, but once it established the rhythm of present-past-column-present I found it very pleasant and satisfying to read.

    I’ve kind of hit a wall with the reading. We are out of town, and that has resulted in very little downtime. I’ll try to get back on the horse when we get back to Bellingham.

    I saw Ben at Terra Organica before we left. It was good to say hi; we missed him at Guys Read.

    Thanks for keeping us posted!

  4. I finished my first couple of galleys. I wrote reviews, but I scheduled them to post closer to their release dates. You’ll have to wait till then to find out what they are!

    I also read an adult book. It was OK. I prefer reading for the middle grader!

    By the way, it’s hard to get a lot of reading done with a one year-old and a three year-old. But I’m trying!

  5. I’ve gotten a bunch of reading done at the end of the summer. I’ve been checking out Patrick Carman books so I can figure out which one to read this year in GR. I’ve also read a few galleys and written reviews.

    And my sister-in-law gave me an advance copy of Wonderstruck, the new novel by Brian Selznick. Same format as Hugo Cabret. It was excellent!

    Summer is almost over! It will be a great, great year in Guys Read, I guarantee it! See you soon!

Leave a Reply

