May Book Post – When You Reach Me

Cover © Random House Children's Books

Well, here we are, at the end. I’ve had a great time this year. I hope you have, too.

Our final book is When You Reach Me, by Rebecca Stead. This Newbery Award-winner is pretty confusing. But in an awesome way. The first time I read it, I kept going back and finding things that happened before, when I realized they were clues. This is definitely a book you might want to read with your parent, like actually with them. Then you can talk about all that awesome confusingness.

As an optional bonus, you could also read A Wrinkle in Time, by Madeleine L’Engle, which is the main character’s favorite book. This is a former Guys Read selection. If you want to read it, I’ve got copies, and so does the library.

Finally, this last meeting will be a big combo BBQ and meeting with the Mother/Daughter Book Club. They’ll also read WYRM. This has been tons of fun the last few years, and I’m sure it will be this time around. We’ll start a half hour earlier, at 6:00. You can RSVP on the note I send home.

Super! Can’t wait until the meeting! Keep reading!

Meeting + BBQ: Thursday, May 26, 6:00 pm

3 Responses

  1. I’m about halfway through A Wrinkle in Time. I forgot how strange it is! Can’t wait to finish it and start When You Reach Me. Hope to find some clever connections.

  2. OK, Mrs. B and I thought of a great activity for our meeting! Can’t wait to see everyone!

  3. Good fun tonight, guys. It’s always fun to eat good food and hang out with a bunch of people who love books. $20,000 Pyramid was fun, too, even though the girls smoked us.

    Congrats to Leo, our Blogger of the Year!

    Thanks for a great year, guys!

Leave a Reply

