April Book Post – The Case of the Case of Mistaken Identity

The Case of the Case of Mistaken Identity

Cover © Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing

Wow! That’s how you do a Guys Read meeting. It’s going to be a little tough to live up to that one. But I’ll try.

Our penultimate book this year is the first in a pretty new kid detective series, The Brixton Brothers The Case of the Case of Mistaken Identity, by Mac Barnett.

I love this series because its about a kid detective who gets involved in real mysteries and real criminals. Much more exciting than plain old Encyclopedia Brown (though I like those ones, too).

However, most exciting of all is the news that I’ve set up a Skype video chat with Mac Barnett during our next meeting! A chance to talk with a real, live, famous author! Get those questions ready.

If you want to read the second book, which I personally think is even better than the first, I’ve got a couple of copies on the shelf in my room.

Keep reading, and I’ll see you all at the end of April!

Meeting: Thursday, April 28, 6:30-7:30

I found a few videos of Mac Barnett talking about the Brixton Brothers. Click on to check them out!

4 Responses

  1. I am enjoying reading the Case of the Case of Mistaken Identity. I can’t believe he solved the blackbird bandit case so fast. I’m looking forward to the rest of the book. I wonder if there are 58 Brixton Brothers’ books?

  2. Well, there are two Brixton Brothers’ books. But maybe Mac Barnett will aim to write 58?

    I’d like it if he wrote the Bailey Brothers Handbook. I think it would be entertaining to read.

  3. It would be a good Skype question- How many in the series are you going to write? 7 like Harry Potter or 58? And a handbook?

  4. Wow! That was a fun meeting!

    Our chat with Mac Barnett went great. The video I was trying to get didn’t really work, but it seems like I’ve got an audio file, so I’ll post that for the time being. I know Mr. F. took a short video, too.

    I’m still buzzing about it! Great night of guy reading!

Leave a Reply

