November Book Post – The Book of Three

Cover © Henry Holt and Co.

Hey guys! Great meeting last week! A strong start to what promises to be a fun year.

Our next book is The Book of Three, by Lloyd Alexander. We’ve read this book for Guys Read before, and it was quite popular.

This is the first book in a series. Last time, I was going to read the rest of the series, but I never got around to it. Maybe I will this time around.

These days, lots of kids know stories from movies and video games more than they do from reading. Just so you know, times haven’t changed. I don’t think I read this book as a kid, but I did have a sweet Disney Read-along book that went with the Black Cauldron movie (which covers the first two books in the series). And, I had this funny computer game, also called “The Black Cauldron,” where you had to avoid the Horned King and save Hen Wen. There’s a screen shot from it on the last Book of Three post.

Don’t forget to comment on the blog and review books to improve your standing in the Blogger of the Year contest! Riley made the first comment. He’s currently the uncontested leader!

And also! Remember, if you bring a new member to the next meeting (or any future meeting), it’s worth a prize! Get recruiting!

Looking forward to our next meeting!

Meeting: Thursday, December 2, 2010, 6:30-7:30 pm

8 Responses

  1. Did you know that you’ve read a story by Lloyd Alexander already? “The King’s Fountain,” from our fourth grade Open Court book, is a short story by Mr. Alexander. I love that story! Short and sweet!

    See you in a couple weeks!

  2. I like the book of three beacuse i think the pig assistant keeper is really fun’y.At the end the last battle i thought they were going to lose but they one and the king is 379 years old. i looked up who was the oldest in the world. it turns out that the oldest person is 145 years old!

  3. If you have read the first Chronicles of Prydain book you should read all the others. I liked all of the books. At first Taran is a brat and he’s really mean to Gurgi, but then he gets better at the end of the story and Flewddur stops lying quite as much.

  4. Can you imagine being 145 years old? That’s about 14 times as old as most TMC students! Imagine the things that person has seen!

    Glad you made it, Martin! Welcome to the club!

    By the way, I moved your other comment to the Hatchet post. Hopefully that’s OK with you.

  5. I definitely want to read the rest, Leo. Last summer, I read all of The Chronicles of Narnia. Maybe I’ll tackle the rest of Prydain this summer.

  6. I found this YouTube video of “A Visit with Lloyd Alexander.” He talks about a lot of things, including the Pyrdain books. Pretty interesting! There are three parts, but I thought the second part was a little slow. I liked the first part best, and the third part has some interesting things about how he writes.

  7. I’m sorry I missed everyone on the 2nd. It was the first time I’d read Lloyd Alexander. I enjoyed the journey they take, and the characters they meet. I think I will read another one over winter break.

  8. I read The Black Cauldron over winter break. It was pretty good. I think I liked it better than The Book of Three. Time for book number three! But I have to read Hatchet and Brian’s Winter first…

Leave a Reply

