October Book Post – How to Eat Fried Worms

Cover © Random House Children's Books

Hey guys! Long time no read-with! I’m pretty excited about this year’s Guys Read. We’ve got some great books to dig into, some great returning members, and a bunch of great fourth grade readers to welcome!

Oh, and I’m ready to eat some treats, too.

Our first book of the year is a classic and a fun one. How to Eat Fried Worms, by Thomas Rockwell. I’m pretty sure I read this in about fourth grade. Maybe fifth. A movie was made of it a few years ago, but I haven’t seen it. Have you? I heard it’s not very good, but maybe you know better?

I’m glad you’re with us, and I’m glad you’re checking out the blog. We’ll be having a Blogger of the Year contest again this year. Will you be the winner?

I can’t wait to meet with a new group of guys. I’ve got a bunch of ideas for fun things to do and tasty things to eat this year. Don’t miss out!

Meeting: Thursday, October 28, 6:30-7:30 pm

8 Responses

  1. This is a great book. I like how the four friends all have different perspectives on the bet. Mr. Shaffer thinks he read it in fourth or fifth grade- I did too. We’ll have some great conversations on this book, but I think the real question will be- What is Mr. Shaffer going to bring to eat…?

  2. I think it’s fairly obvious what I’ll be bringing for a treat. :^)

  3. Billy is going to win the bet and ride the mini bike down the hall at school. At least I hope that’s what happens. See everyone at the meeting.

  4. Great meeting tonight, guys! Lots of us, and lots of fun talk about gross foods, bets, and that crazy Billy.

    We even ate fried worms! The recipe was:

    12 oz chocolate chips
    12 oz butterscotch chips

    Melt together until smooth. Pour over:

    18 oz of crunchy fried worms (can substitute chow mein noodles, if you’re wimpy)

    Stir until worms/noodles are coated. Drop by the spoonful onto wax paper to cool and harden.

    Yum! If only Billy knew about this recipe!

  5. I’m going to try it without the chow mein noodles

  6. I’ll give you a dollar if you eat one, Mr. F.

  7. I can’t wait to get the new book! I think it will be a good story.

  8. Oh! Riley comments first!

    I think you’ll like it, Riley. It’s a fun story. I’ll have a post up for it by next week.

Leave a Reply

