March Book Post – Tuck Everlasting

Yo, guys. How goes it? Great meeting last week, eh? This is shaping up to be the strongest Guys Read group ever!

Our next book is my favorite children’s book (Which it’s hard to choose, right? I know!). Tuck Everlasting, by Natalie Babbitt. It’s a book that is beautifully written, with crazy excellent descriptions and details. Sometimes it’s a little slow, but there’s some solid action and excitement in there, too.

It was made into a movie a few years ago. It was not too bad. I thought it stuck to the book pretty well.

I have to go to a certain soccer game on the last Thursday of the month, so the meeting will slide back a day. Hope that works for everyone most of us.

Meeting: Wednesday, March 24, 6:30-7:30pm

12 Responses

  1. This is one of the few books where I have seen the movie (awhile back…) and haven’t read the book. I am looking forward to checking it out today or tomorrow and getting started. Mr. Shaffer has always chosen excellent books, so I am looking forward to a great read!

  2. I heard that John’s mom almost finished the book already! Yow!

  3. I am amazed at this book! In how adventurous this book is.
    I really liked the first part when Winnie was talking to the bull frog. She gave the bull frog meaning so it seemed appropriate that he should live forever! Oops, don’t mean to give anything away!! Thank you Mr. Shaffer for having us read this book.

  4. I’m glad you’ve liked it, John. I agree with everything you wrote. It is full of mystery, adventure, and suspense, and Ms. Babbitt’s descriptions make everything seem very real, as you wrote in your review.

    Looking forward to our meeting!

  5. I just finished the book. It is amazing how the majority of the book takes place in such a short setting. A fun tale of adventure. It makes me wonder about how many legends around the world lead to living forever- and the answer is in Treegap.

  6. Thank you for having us read this book, I really enjoyed it .
    I’m sorry John and I won’t be able to join the discussion on Wednesday, we have other commitments. Though we don’t have forever like Mae and Tuck and the boys, we do have next time, we are looking forward to the next challenge. And, yes I devoured Tuck Everlasting in three evenings!!

  7. Very interesting book made me think about so many different things.Should be a very interesting meeting.Sorry John and his Mom wont be there but we will see you hopefully for the next one.Don’t miss the Barbecue for sure we had so much fun at the one last year. :):):):):):)See everyone on Wednesday night.The B Boys

  8. Lots of good discussion last night, guys. A few couldn’t make it, but that’s OK. I blame the day change. Sorry! Anyway, we got to have bigger pieces of chocolate chip bars because of it, so we’re not really that sad. But we are full!

    By the way, we agreed quite unanimously that we wouldn’t want to live forever. Unless we had an out clause. Then maybe.

    Our ideas got pretty out there: Could the Tucks live and breathe in outer space? When the sun consumes the earth in a billion years, will the Tucks survive? That would be weird. And very lonely.

    Anyone have any other thoughts after the meeting?

  9. i think they couldn’t survive in outer space because they are immortal but they need to breath.

  10. tuck everlasting was one of the weirdest but best book i have ever read in my whole life.

  11. tuck everlasting does make me think about land. Like does my mom and dad own the land to the middle of the earth. I also thought about is there a real spring somewhere in the world with a spring that will make you live forever.

  12. Good thoughts, Camden. I wonder do your parents own the sky above their land, too?

    So you’re saying that maybe they wouldn’t be dead in outer space, but they wouldn’t be able to do anything since they’d be suffocating? Endless suffocation? Sounds very unpleasant.

    Glad you’re on the blog finally! But don’t forget capital letters! ;^)

Leave a Reply

