October Book Post – Touching Spirit Bear

Hey guys! I’m pretty excited to start another year of Guys Read! Especially to welcome back some old members and welcome in some new ones.

Our first book this year is Touching Spirit Bear, by Ben Mikaelsen. I’ve read a couple of Mr. Mikaelsen’s books, including Rescue Josh McGuire, one of last year’s GR books. He is a popular author at TMC, and around the world.

This blog is a great place to talk about the book before and after our meetings. Just make sure you check out the rules on the left. Blog on!

It should be a great year this year; I’ve got some interesting and unique books for us to explore. I’m glad to have you with us!

Read on!

4 Responses

  1. Looks great! Keep reading.

  2. Hey guys! I hope you’re getting some reading done; we meet next week!

    I know this is a pretty heavy book to start off with. I even emailed the author to ask him if it was OK for fourth and fifth graders. And he wrote back! Here’s what he said:

    I appreciated your question about age appropriateness. All of my books deal with difficult subjects. With the exception of Tree Girl, I have had very good response from 4th and 5th graders who send me questions on each of my novels, and I can tell by their questions that they really do “Get It!” I do feel it is important to have a teacher who can stop the story during difficult sections and discuss it with the students. One issue is also the maturity of the individual student. If the book is read strictly for sensational reasons, perhaps the book is not appropriate.

    So that’s why I ask you to read GR books with an adult, and that’s why it’s great to have a club where we can talk about these great books together!

    See you soon!

  3. Whoa. This book is intense. Holy moly. Like almost hard-to-read-intense. I can’t wait to talk about it and find out what you guys think.

  4. Well, that was sort of sad. No one showed up for Guys Read! Wha?

    Actually, it wasn’t so bad. I went and joined in with Girls Read, which had read Pictures of Hollis Woods. It’s a good book, a Newbery Honor. It might be a little girly, but I’ve read it, and I liked it. So guys can like it, too.

    Anyway. I gave all the girls the chocolatey treats I brought for Guys Read. Yum! Lucky them!

Leave a Reply

