February Book Post – The Watsons Go to Birmingham

He, guys! Our February book is another historical fiction, though it’s set about 200 years after Sign of the Beaver. It’s called The Watsons Go to Birmingham – 1963, and is the first book by Christopher Paul Curtis. Mr. Curtis is one of my favorite authors. He won the Newbery Medal for his second book, Bud, not Buddy, a Newbery Honor for Watsons, and just received another Newbery Honor for his latest novel, Elijah of Buxton. Wow!

And here’s some exciting news! Mr. Curtis will be in Bellingham just two days after our meeting! I’m planning to go to see him, and I hope to bring your questions! So be thinking about what you might want to ask!

See you soon!

3 Responses

  1. Nice meeting last night, guys. I was pleased to see more than one of you; I was worried!

    It’s pretty interesting to think about how Kenny’s school was so different from ours. We’re lucky to live in the time and place that we do.

    Keep reading!

  2. Here’s an incredible and wonderful story for you:

    At today’s Children’s Literature Conference, I planned to buy copies of The Watsons Go To Birmingham – 1963 for Ben, Tyler, and Derek, the three members who read the book and came to this month’s meeting. Then I planned to get them autographed by Mr. Curtis.

    So everything was going according to plan. I bought the books. I stood in line. I reached Mr. Curtis’ table.

    It was at this point that I got kind of nervous and mumbley. At least that’s how I remember it. I described our club for him, and how we had three guys who discussed Watsons at Thursday’s meeting. We chatted briefly about the club, and I managed to squeak out that he is one of my favorite authors, and that I try to read aloud one of his books each year to my class. Getting back to the club, I told him I was getting a book for each of the guys that made it to the meeting this month.

    “You’re buying these books for your kids?” Mr. Curtis asked.

    “Yes, I am,” I replied. I tried to say something else about how it was something I wanted to do and that the guys would be excited about it, but Mr. Curtis spoke up first.

    “Well, I’m going to buy them for you.” And he dug in his pocket, took out a $20 bill, and tucked it in one of the books.

    “Wha? Thank you!” I gushed. “Wow. They’re going to love hearing this story. Thank you!” I’m pretty sure I sounded like an idiot. Then I proceeded to fast walk away before I made a fool of myself.

    As I walked away, I heard the much-less-shy woman behind me say, “That was so nice of you to buy his books.”

    That’s exactly what it was. Christopher Paul Curtis: Super-nice guy. Super-good author. Super-great person.

  3. WOW!! What a story!

    I’ve been entertained by a lot of authors. I’ve enjoyed talking with many authors. I’ve even had authors sign my books.

    BUT I’VE NEVER HAD AN AUTHOR BUY HIS BOOKS FOR ME!

    You get all the luck Mr. S.

Leave a Reply

