October Book Post – Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key

Hey howdy hey! Time to get this thing rolling! We won’t meet until the last week of October, but that doesn’t mean we can’t be reading, and blogging.

Our first book this year is Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key, by Jack Gantos. We read this last year and everyone seemed to like it, so this time we’re batting it lead-off. The book was a National Book Award Finalist, and its sequel, Joey Pigza Loses Control, was a Newbery Honor Book.

Before you use this blog, be sure to read the rules at right very carefully. The Internet has many wonderful potentials, and a few scary ones. I assure you that there is no danger of posting on our Guys Read blog, as long as we follow the rules. However, for this reason, I will delete any comment that does not follow the rules. So read them carefully, and have fun! To leave a comment, click on “Comments” below.

I’m excited to get started! Guys read! And we love it!

5 Responses

  1. Hey Guys,
    This is your PE teacher. I am sorry I missed the first night of guys read, I am feeling sick. I promise to be at next month’s book club. “Hatchet” is one of my favorite books of all time.
    “Joey Pigza Swallowed The Key”

    1) Thumbs Up Or Thumbs Down? I am giving this book thumbs up! From a teachers perspective I felt like I learned a lot from this story.
    2) What was your favorite part of the book? I had many parts of the book that I found very funny, but here are two of them. The first was when Joey tried to sharpen his finger in the pencil sharpener. I hope nobody ever does that at our school. What was Joey thinking!!! Another favorite part for me was when Joey ate the whole entire molasses shoofly pie. He turned into a wild man after that, and climbed up into the rafters of the barn he was so lucky that he did not hurt himself. That much sugar can not be good for anyone.
    3) Who was my favorite character besides Joey in the book? I really liked Charlie! He was the kid who had really small arms on the bus that Joey rode with to the special education center. Even though Charlie had practically no arms he still had a really good attitude about life.

    I am really looking forward to reading your guys comments on the Blog!! Feel free to answer the same questions that I did.

  2. Thanks for your comments, Mr. H!

    We had a great first meeting at Guys Read! Three guys and three dads, plus Mr. F and Mr. H (custodian).

    Brendan gave us some great insight into what it’s like to have ADHD. It was great to have him explain to us what it feels like to be on meds and off them, and how he can get wound up and crazy, just like Joey.

    We all agreed that Joey is a good kid who makes some poor choices. Thankfully, he has a good support system of mom, teachers, and doctors who care about him and want him to get better.

    Write some more thoughts, if you have them!

    If you liked this book, there are two sequels: Joey Pigza Loses Control and What Would Joey Do? Enjoy them!

  3. I loved this book, it made me feel totally hyper! I think every teacher should read this book so that they understand what it feels like to be so full of energy.
    Your local librarian

  4. Wow, guys! I really enjoyed meeting to discuss Joey Pigza’s story! As those of you who were there now know, I have direct, personal experience with Joey’s affliction. It was good to get other perspectives on this issue, and good to realize that folks have lots of support to help them deal with it. Thank you to Mr. F. for sharing his story about his boyhood friend! It helps to put some perspective on the ways we deal with these kinds of things differently from the way they were dealt with in the past.

  5. Yum! Shoofly Pie! Check out the recipe for our October Guys Read treat!

Comments are closed.

