March’s Book Post – The Fear Place

Hello fellow guy readers! We nearly disintegrated for a second there. Yikes! We’re survivors, though. I think we have successfully weathered the basketball season, the science fair, and any number of other obstacles, and hopefully it will be smooth sailing from here on out. I anticipate increased attendance. We’ve added a member, and we’ll even have a guest blogger-member, Mr. H., our janitor, for this book (he’s a guy; he reads!). The days of four chocolatey treats per person are over! Time to spread the yum (and the fun!)!

Our March book will be The Fear Place, by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor. Ms. Naylor is a Newbery Award-winning author (for Shiloh, 1992) and has written more than eighty books! Yow!

I’m getting more and more excited about Guys Read. I’ve already selected next month’s book, and I can’t wait to get started reading this one.

Don’t forget to tell your friends about our club! We will always welcome new members. The more the merrier!

Catch ya later! Keep reading!

3 Responses

  1. The Fear Place is my favorite book by Naylor. When I read it I could feel the intense fear in my stomach, in my throat and my heart was racing. I love books that can make me physically feel what I am reading about.

    Your local librarian
    Mrs. B

  2. I liked it, too. I kept on thinking of times when I have been in places or situations that made me feel nervous or scared. There’s always that part in the back of your mind that pricks at you–on the plane, on the narrow trail, face-to-face with a cougar (I must say that last one has never happened to me).

    Thanks for recommending it for the club, Mrs. B.! And thanks for adding to the blog!

  3. Our meeting was a success! Elijah, his mom, Hayden, his mom, and guest Relijah all attended. We talked about all kinds of things, ranging from cougars to camping to Fidel Castro. A lot of our discussion was about what we would have done in the situations Doug and Gordie found themselves in.

    Can’t wait until next month!–>

Comments are closed.

