February Book Post – Al Capone Does My Shirts

Hello Guys Read members! It’s February five days early here!

Our fourth GR book will be Al Capone Does My Shirts, by Gennifer Choldenko, a Newbery Honor winner. It’s historical fiction, which means we’ve changed genres for the first time; a little break from contemporary realistic fiction. Al Capone is set in 1935 on Alcatraz Island, site of America’s most famous prison.

Also, you need to talk up our club! The more members we have, the more fun! Kyler S. and his mom have a great time, I know, but we want to share it with all of you! So spread the word! And we really need some fourth graders. They are the future of Guys Read, you know.

Short note on the blog: I’ve changed the setup so that you don’t have to be registered to use it. I will just regulate the comments myself. I think this will make it easier to use.

That’s all! Hurrah for reading! Wait. . . I mean, Hurrah for guys reading!

